No Parking

On Tuesday, we took some of our Forerunners (Tuesdays from 4-6 pm we have “Forerunner Basic Training” to train up “warrior poets”/forerunner messengers to prepare the way of the Lord through night and day prayer) to various polling sites in Coweta to pray for God’s will to be done in the coming election. I found it interesting with our nation’s adamant stance concerning “separation of church and state” that most of the polling locations on our list were at churches! I praise God for that, though, and since we have a mandate here to pray for the Bride and for church leadership, we were thrilled to go and “circle” the churches in prayer. I am reading the book “The Circle Maker” by Mark Batterson and it has literally brought me to my knees (even as painful as it is to kneel after my surgery!) It has convicted, encouraged and inspired me as much or perhaps even more than any book I’ve read in a long time. I may write more about it later but I wanted to post one of the visions that one of the Forerunners had while praying at one of the churches. He said, “I saw an escalator and Believers were walking up it, though the escalator was actually going down. God was at the top of the escalator and they would keep climbing and almost reach Him but then quit and slide back down…” He felt led to pray for perseverance for voters, leaders and church leaders and so we did.

This morning in my One Year Bible reading, I read the following passage from 2 Timothy 4:
Preach the word of God. Be persistent, whether the time is favorable or not. Patiently correct, rebuke, and encourage your people with good teaching. For a time is coming when people will no longer listen to right teaching. They will follow their own desires and will look for teachers who will tell them whatever they want to hear….”

Be persistent, whether the time is favorable or not…..I know it is an exhortation to preach the Word and really there are so many messages in this, but this morning I felt also like it was a word for Believers everywhere and particularly those called to build houses of prayer, a word of encouragement to KEEP REACHING toward Him and not give up!

I looked up the definition for “persistent”. Persistent=1. persisting, especially in spite of opposition, obstacles, discouragement, etc; persevering; 2. lasting or enduring tenaciously; the persistent aroma….; 3. constantly repeated; continued; 4. continuing or permanent.

Some of the synonyms were: “relentless, steadfast, tenacious, firm, fixed, immovable, unshakeable, in for the long haul….”

The truth is that either we are climbing the mountain and reaching toward God, or we are “sliding back down” the escalator…there is “NO PARKING”!!! So which is it for you? I recently went on a week long retreat to get rest and refreshing. It was wonderful but as I was preparing to leave, I walked out onto the dock overlooking the lake and said, “Lord, if you could only say one word to me right now, if I could only leave here with one word, what would it be?” I was expecting something encouraging and intimate and inspiring but was taken aback when I heard “apathy”. Huh? I was indignant…”No, I’m not leaving here with that one–I want a different word than that!” But that’s the word I got and when I looked up the word, though I felt I knew what it meant, was convicted and challenged when I read “lacking passion“. Sigh. In my weariness from recent attacks and trials, knee surgery, etc. I realized I had “slid back down” the escalator. I am determined, though, to start climbing and reaching again!

So, be encouraged today and be persistent! Whether the time is favorable or not…… regardless of your circumstances…..keep climbing…keep reaching! It’s gonna be worth it…..

Leave a Reply

